Mālama Hulē‘ia

2022 Board of Directors: Establishes the overall mission, vision, strategies, and programs for Mālama Hulē‘ia.

IMG_1891 (4)

Board President, Jan TenBruggencate is a paddler and builder of Hawaiian outrigger canoes, the author of a number of books on Hawaiian history, a communications consultant, and science writer.



IMG_1891 (6)Vice President, Lee Evslin is a paddler and the former CEO of Wilcox Hospital and Kaua’i Medical Clinic. He served as a board-certified pediatrician on Kaua‘i for more than 30 years. He is a private landowner with experience using a variety of equipment for clearing 11-acres of hau.



IMG_1891 (7)

Secretary, Ruby Pap is a Coastal Land Use Extension Agent with the University of Hawai‘i Sea Grant College Program based in the County of Kaua‘i Planning Department. She serves as a liaison between university and private researchers, government, and the community to ensure the latest coastal science is available for coastal zone planning, management, and educational activities. Her main focus is on coastal hazards and climate change.

IMG_1891 (3)

Treasurer, LaVerne Bishop held Program and Executive Director positions for over 40 years at Hale `Opio Kaua‘i., a youth development and treatment agency. Currently active with the Leadership Council of Keiki to Career Kaua‘i and on the board of Kaua‘i Planning and Action Alliance, she is a Community Representative for the State Foundation on Culture and the Arts for Artists in Public Places.


IMG_1891 (5)Emory Griffin-Noyes has been involved in the conservation and perpetuation of endemic Hawaiian plants and animals for the past 15 years. Currently he is the Associate Biologist with Hallux, focusing on protecting endemic seabirds from the threat of predation by invasive vertebrate pests.



IMG_1891 (2)

Sabra Kauka is a kumu of Hawaiian Arts & Culture. She is a founding member and past president of Napali Coast Ohana and continues to serve as a volunteer. She also serves on the board of Garden Island RC&D. She lives in the ahupua’a of Kalapaki and feels a responsibility to Mālama Hulē‘ia.



IMG_1890 (2)

Chris Kauwe has been a Kaua‘i resident since hurricane Iniki, Mr Kauwe is a canoe paddler and is involved in many Hawaiian cultural activities. He brings his experiences to bear fruit for the Mālama Hulē‘ia Board and the wider community.




Kawika Smith works for the State Department of Land and Natural
Resources-Division of Forestry and Wildlife in the Na Ala Hele program. Mr. Smith grew up on the westside of Kauai, graduating from Waimea High school then continued education in the mainland at Treasure Valley Community College in Ontario Oregon with an AA in Forestry Management, finished with a BS degree in Forestry Management at Colorado State University in Fort Collins Colorado. Among Kawikaʻs extensive forestry experience, he has protected native wildlife species and propagated native plants and will bring his expertise to the restoration of Huleia River and Alakoko fishpond.


Enoka Karratti is a former Hawaiian studies educator with the State of
Hawaii, Department of Education. As an educator, he brought his students to Huleʻia as a way to supplement his Hawaiian studies curriculum. Mr. Karratti also assisted in the development of the web-based, virtual field trip to Huleʻia project. Mr. Karratti grew up in Kekaha, lives in Waimea, and currently works with the Waimea based, non-profit group “Kumano i ke ala” as the Education
Outreach Specialist.

Mālama Hulē‘ia Staff: Responsible for executing all program requirements, including fundraising, and achieving the mission of Mālama Hulē‘ia.

Malama Huleia Staff: Peleke Flores, Bria Greer (consultant), Sara Bowen, Christopher Kaiakapu, Tiele Doudt, Jason Makaneole, Punohu Kekaualua, Kaniho Giminiz



Our Partners

Mālama Hulē‘ia could not succeed without kokua from the government agencies, businesses, community organizations, as well as hundreds of individuals who are our supporting partners.

The following have contributed significantly to our operations:

  • Matson
  • Hallux Environmental (predator control)
  • Dukes
  • Kaiola Canoe Club
  • Outfitters Kauai
  • Department of Education
  • Surfrider Foundation
  • Kauai Veterans Trucking
  • KUA
  • Okada Trucking

We have received funding from these agencies and foundations:

  • United States Fish and Wildlife Service – Coastal Wetlands Restoration Grant
  • United States Fish and Wildlife Service – Fish Habitat Partnership Grant
  • Hawaii Department of Fish and Wildlife DOFAW (as the project sponsor/partner)
  • Hawaii Community Foundation
    • Community Restoration Partnership
    • Chan Zuckerberg Kaua`i Community Fund
  • County of Kauai Office of Economic Development
  • Kamehameha Schools – Community Investment Partnership
  • Schmidt Foundation
  • Chapin Foundations


5 thoughts on “Organization”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s